Fear

Push through fear to love…

I’ll be the first to admit fear has kept me in an emotional prison for a long time.  I allowed fear to stop me from applying to certain colleges. going to law school, changing careers, talking to a boy, and trying out for the cheerleading squad.  And those are just a few of the things it prevented me from doing.  If I were to list all of the things that Iallowed fear to stop me from doing, this blog would be full.  And it seems no matter how smart, pretty, strong, outgoing, handsome, wealthy, confident, etc., one may seem, I know too many people who have and are allowing fear to keep them from the life of their dreams.  It’s mind-boggling to me.  People who otherwise have so much going for them, paralyzed by fear.

What I’ve learned is that most of what we fear, requires us to step outside of our comfort zone.  In order to push through it, we have to be willing to be uncomfortable.  And most of us are not willing to do this.  We hold on tightly to the familiar.  Gripping, clenching tightly, to all that is known, for dear life.  Not surprising, we always regret not doing the thing, whatever it was, but we don’t learn from that.

So I’m not writing this to be preachy. I’m not shaking my finger nor are my hands on my hips, because this used to be me.  I used to imagine every horrible thing that could be said or done as a result of my stepping outside my comfort zone into the unknown. Until one day I realized, I am crazy.  My ego is crazy.  So why on Earth would I even listen to that crazy person in the first place?  Lol. I finally realized it was all Ego.  And we all know that Ego will have us stuck in a rut for the rest of our lives if we allow it.  I simply had to make up my mind not to allow it.

The first thing I had to accept and work through was that I am not my ego. I am spirit first. And in order for me to honor my spirit, I had to learn how to operate more lovingly. And once I started doing this, it became easier and easier for me to do the things that my spirit needed and desired without regard to ego. Of course, it’s an on-going process, but the more I do it, the more my ego’s voice becomes weaker and weaker.  It is so liberating.  The freedom that I am now experiencing as a result of pushing through fear and reawakening love, is simply phenomenal. So the next time you have a thought about doing something you’ve never done, push through the fear and think only of the love that you are.  Remember, we were not born with a spirit of fear. Repeat this over and over and over again.  Every time you are about to deny your spirit an experience that it desires, say this.  Write it on an index card.  Do whatever it takes to internalize it and live by it.  Be blessed.

Leave a Reply

