Ego / Expectations / Fear / Poetry

Poem #9- In My Shoes

I feel you sitting there

judging me

Perched high

on that horse of yours

galloping proudly

and with ease.

While looking down

on me

Struggling

Not two nickels  in my deep, empty pockets

And you think-

“I don’t know what she did
We went to the same schools
She shouldn’t have had all those kids
She’s a damn fool!”

Perched high
on that horse of yours
You haven’t walked in my shoes.

They hear you whispering

Making your snide remarks

Thinkin’ your derrier smells as sweet and perfumed as roses

And how you’re so cute too

You have the best husband

Best job

Best home and car

You go to church every Sunday

And you would NEVER EVER go

to a bar

Perched high

on that horse of yours

trotting conceitedly

and with ease.

While looking down

on your sisters

Struggling

with dead-end jobs and no degrees

And you think-

“They don’t ever have any money
And why can’t they find a man?
Their lifestyles are just senseless to me!
Hmph! They are not doing they best they can.”

Perched high
on that horse of yours
You’ve never walked in their shoes

Folks see your glances

Disapproving and cold

Rolling your eyes

at their laughter

Shaking your head

at their boldness

Offended by

their happiness

You can’t comprehend

their serenity

or dare to understand

their peace of mind

And you think-

Why are they so happy?
Even though their broke.
They don’t have nearly as much as me.
And even less than most folks.

And from that high horse
Where you’re perched
Oh so high
You look down
With sad, forlorn eyes.
Wondering…
why
isn’t
that
me?

© 2011 EmittingLove

One thought on “Poem #9- In My Shoes

Leave a Reply

