Acting as if / Blockages / Desires / Dreams / Expectations

“She ain’t got no money in the bank…”

As I was dancing around my house yesterday, preparing for the new year, Swizz Beats song “She Ain’t Got No Money in the Bank” came on and I couldn’t help but to giggle to myself because he could very well be talking about me. A couple of months ago I began taking a really hard look at my finances and spending habits. I saved receipts and totaled them up monthly. I studied my account on Mint.com to see where I spend the bulk of my money. And I also began carrying a notebook with me wherever I go to record my expenditures.  Needless to say, I was on a mission.  Unfortunately, like many of my personal missions, my motivation waned after a couple of weeks and the newfound “Get your money right!” habit fell by the wayside. But I’m baaacck… and with a vengence.

I have titled my plan “Operation F-Cubed” – Fit, Fine and Fabulous. I am combining the areas where I am most challenged and I am boot camping myself. Ha!  I think I just made up a new word. You see there simply is no valid reason why (even with my teacher’s salary) I should not have more money in the bank or why I haven’t already achieved my ideal weight.  There is no reason why I should not be able to take trips when I want or pay off my debt (excluding student and car loans). It was time for me to admit that my spending habits are preventing me from having the life I truly desire. Also, I realized that I don’t want to teach forever. At least not in the public school system, but if I continue to spend and not save I will be stuck in a job that hinders my growth as writer. No bueno!

So I am on a mission. A serious mission to change my habits! So starting today I am fasting. My first fast is a spending fast. I will not purchase anything at all during the month of January unless it is a necessity like food or gas. This includes all the little purchases I am so used to making like getting snacks from the snack machines at work or a Wawa coffee. Those small purchases add up!  No more! My second fast is a sugar fast. Down with sugar!  And whoa baby is this fast going to be difficult. This month I will be fasting from pastries and baked goods. This fast is going to be the most challenging for me because I crave sugar like nobody’s business. However, because I know how quickly I can backslide I am going to do this fast over a course of six months, gradually adding more sugary items to the list.

That pretty much covers what I will be doing over the next four weeks. I purchased two finance books to help me on my journey: The Frugalista Files by Natalie McNeal and The Power to Prosper: 21 Days to Financial Freedom by Michelle Singletary. I haven’t purchased any books on eliminating sugar from my diet, but right now the finances is where I need the most “coaching” for lack of a better term.

So here’s to 2013 and Operation F- Cubed! Because in order to be Fit, Fine and Fabulous I can’t be broke and overweight. LOL! There’s nothing fabulous about that!

 

One thought on ““She ain’t got no money in the bank…”

  1. Woohoo! Congrats on your decision to implement Operation F-Cubed. Such an awesome task. I really need to be doing the same. No money in the bank could be my middle name (if “sugar addict” weren’t already it). And now that you mention it, it is those little purchases that add up (and subtract from your savings). I’m doing a sugar fast too- in stages. Desserts and sweet snacks first.

Leave a Reply

